04
Jan
10

Avatar is just a terribly bad movie. I like the idea though.

Yep, we have entertainment tonight. Ok, so it’s obvious that this movie is bullshit. If it is not obvious, I have nothing more to say to you.

For me movies are just a matter of “buying it”. It’s not about being sci fi or not. Take for example Troy. A reality pretty remote from ours. Nevertheless, I’m buying it. I really felt like watching Achilles and Hector and the ancient world. Or Matrix. But the Avatar… I’m just not buying it.

I really don’t know what makes a movie buyable. Maybe the actors really believing what they were acting. Or maybe the story being true. Not necessarily true in the factual sense but more in a mythological sense. Of course, for the modern world, myths are basically not true. But for me they have more truth than the “real” world. Maybe this is why some movies become cult movies and some will be forgotten next month.

Anyway, I really wanted to make some points and I have to grant this movie the merit of at least bringing the idea of Avatar into discussion, although in such a horribly distorted way.

Yes, an Avatar is indeed an incarnation. But of Vishnu, the Supreme God. Not of a fucked up marine. Yes, I know that for Americans, marines are supreme gods but nevertheless.

Now, seriously, if the hindus would not be so wise and tolerant, this would be actually blasphemious. To say that the idea of an ordinary man taking another body has anything to do with the doctrine of the Avatara, is just stupid. But for the American public these are just details. I seriously wonder how many will even ask themselves what this word means.

Ok, maybe a few will think: yes, Avatar, incarnation of Vishnu, right… But what does that actually mean? It means that from time to time God takes a human form and mingles with us. Maybe in order to make a dramatical change in the world. Or maybe just in order to feel what it is really like to be human. Or to have fun. Or to suffer. It’s the same thing as God being Christ. Now, that’s an Avatar!


3 Responses to “Avatar is just a terribly bad movie. I like the idea though.”


  1. February 4, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    i don’t think you can call Troy a good movie either

  2. February 15, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Sure I can. But of course, this is a totally subjective matter.

  3. 3 Hm,
    February 22, 2010 at 12:01 am

    ‘An avatar is a computer user’s representation of himself/herself or alter ego, whether in the form of a three-dimensional model used in computer games,[1] a two-dimensional icon (picture) or a one-dimensional username used on Internet forums and other communities,[2][3] or a text construct found on early systems such as MUDs. It is an object representing the user. The term “avatar” can also refer to the personality connected with the screen name, or handle, of an Internet user.’
    Of course there’s the ‘avatar’ you’re refering to, hindu term for the apparition/manifestation of gods, as a source for the previous.
    The movie’s fault was not in the title though.
    It was pretty much the same predictable affair we got used to be served from Hollywood, a sort of Pocahontas mixed with something else.
    I still enjoyed it quite a lot. The idea of it, as you say.
    Wish I could nimbly run/climb on trees like the na’vi, and fly on the back of some weird creature that responds to me and me only.
    Haha.
    A good day;)


Leave a comment


January 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031